Forgot Login?   Sign up  
Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Marklin 8559 diamond crossing

More
12 years 11 months ago #10805 by tluamiani
Marklin 8559 diamond crossing was created by tluamiani
Hello, I'm new to Z guage and have a bit of a problem with the Marklin 8559 diamond crossing. Have searched the "beginners" section of the forum, but not found an answer to this one...

I have included it with two left turnouts as part of a double diamond junction on my layout. My problem is that it doesn't seem to be an isolating piece of track, and on further inspection certainly looks like it isn't! Is this true? I perhaps wrongly assumed that a diamond crossover would always isolate between the two tracks...

As my layout doesn't use DCC, having both up and down tracks sharing the same current is obviously going to cause me issues.

Has anyone else encountered something like this? And if so, how did they cope with it? I have a bit of an idea of completely isolating it from both up and down tracks and then using some kind of switch to switch between them, but this is obviously more overhead and not ideal at all....

Last resort would be to whip it out completely and use a single lead junction instead - but again, not what I want to do...

The biggest mistake, was after testing the running of a few trains over the junction to check for derailment, I soldered it in place!! It's only when unexpected trains started moving later on I realised the problem...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 11 months ago #10807 by markm
Replied by markm on topic Re: Marklin 8559 diamond crossing
Hi,